Contract work

moseby_sl

shitlord
Just curious,

I have been asked by a local non-profit to reimage a bunch of pc's/laptop's (20 in total windows 7/8), then config and install a few applications on them. I have been doing this at home and for previous employers. However never as a contractor, I wanted to know how much to charge? They are quoting 3 hours of work each so I was thinking $20/h might be too low, and $30/h is most likely far to high

To bear in mind that this could be a possible foot in the door for a full time position, and that I am currently unemployed as my previous employer decided to lay me off permanently the week of march break. Also my sister works for said non-profit.

Regards,

Joeboo

Molten Core Raider
Honestly, I have no idea what the market is like in Ontario Canada, but even the $30 an hour would be on the really low-end for freelance IT work around here, and I'm in a part of the US that's on the lower end of the wage/cost of living scale. I have a lot of IT friends that pick up odd contracts in-between their big contract jobs that they might have for a year or two at a time. Their smaller freelance work is usually more in the $50-$70 an hour range, but I also don't believe they have any expectations of those turning into permanent positions, so they aren't too concerned about giving a great deal.

mkopec

<Gold Donor>
Split it in the middle and go for $25 if you are pretty sure there is a position there for you. /shrugs

moseby_sl

shitlord
I really had no idea what was changed for this sort of work. I was just ballparking base on previous salaries. The wife talked to a couple of the guys who run the law firms IT dept where she works and said 60 - 70. I guess I will have to reconsider what to charge.

Eomer

Trakanon Raider
In my experience IT companies charge around $90-120/hr out here in Alberta.

Joeboo

Molten Core Raider