GemStone IV - Old School MMO MUD

Bane_sl

shitlord
So I stumbled across a blog post of a guy who was reminiscing about days he was playing in old MUDs and got my thinking to revisit the world of Elanthia, a la Gemstone by Simutronics. Happy to see the game is still running, and has been updated to now run as GemStone IV. Old school rolling for stats, dice rolls to hunt, cast, etc. Great player interactions.

30 day trial free for everyone with an email address, so I am going to fire it up and use the old Stormfront Front End to try and get back into it.

Nemesis

Bridgeburner
funny you mention this...

I just went through the same thing and ended up doing a trial run in Dragonrealms (another Simutronics game)

I started playing Gemstone and DR waaaaay back in the AOL days.. and seem to keep coming back to it every couple of years.

i think the population there is a good bit lower than in DR, or isnt it?

Sir Funk

Lord Nagafen Raider
I played this maybe 5 years ago. Never got really far, but this is probably one of the best MUDs of all time. The world is amazing! Played a thief and loved how even finding the thieves' guild was a feat--players would just NOT spoil it and you had to find it on your own which took quite a bit of effort.

Loved the idea of it, and it's a great social game, but I don't think I could put in the time or effort to learn the whole thing nowadays.

Nemesis

Bridgeburner
For what it's worth, re-acclamation to the game isn't that bad... they just updated the whole game to code version "3.0", and by whole game I mean most of it.. as always, they've left several systems/abilities/skills to be finished down the road.

For someone that stopped playing shortly after the "2.0" release back somewhere btwn 2008-2010, it actually didn't take that much effort to get up to speed.