I want to negotiate a pay rise

Ossoi

Tranny Chaser
I was sure there was already a thread on how to go about asking for and successfully negotiating a pay rise but I couldn't find anything.

I work in sales and have been with the company for 3.5 years, I am the second longest serving employee and for the last two years I have been the top billing consultant. Last year I billed 50% more than the guy in second place.

All new employees start at ?28-30k.

Pay rises are linked to revenue generated over two quarters:

?45k per quarter x 2 = pay rise to ?32500
?60k per quarter x 2 = pay rise to ?35000 and company car (my current level) (I receive an extra ?200 per month instead of a company car)
?75k per quarter x 2 = pay rise to ?40000 and company car upgrade

Being in sales we also get commission which significantly boosts our earnings.

My reason for wanting a pay rise is because I know for a fact that another consultant who bills less than me joined the company on ?34000. This was because he already had some experience in our field. I know this because I picked up the invoice from the recruitment agency that supplied him, it was printed off and left on the office printer. From the size of their fee and knowing they charge 20% of a candidates salary it was easy to work out what his salary was. This was two years ago and I have kept the information to myself. Discussing salary is not permitted and can be considered a disciplinary breach. Also, last week the consultant in question mentioned to a colleague that his basic salary was roughly ?2800, 2800 x 12 = ?34k.

This consultant joined in mid 2011 and by the end of 2011 I had achieved back to back quarters of ?60k and the pay rise and finished as top billing consultant. For 2012 I billed roughly double what he billed.