Potential Lawsuit Against Apartment Complex?

astos_sl

shitlord
My apartment lease is up at the end of the month and management is raising my rent substantially, hence I told them I won't be renewing the lease. I called today under a fake name (John Kruger, aka Arnold Schwarzenegger from Eraser to keep it bodybuilding related) and asked about prices, and the leasing agent quoted me the exact same rent I am paying now for the same apartment. I got her to email me the quote and I went to the management's office after work and they refuse to honor the terms they emailed to me because I'm a current resident. They wouldn't even let me sign a brand new lease with those terms and pay all the application fees again.

In my opinion this is price discrimination - they are quoting two people two different prices for the same apartment. That's like me saying I'll sell my car to a white guy for 10k but a black guy for 15k. So for all you CEO's / Fortune 500 attorneys, do I have a case for a lawsuit?

Toony

Molten Core Raider
Happens all the time, ever notice cell phone deals are better for new subscribers than existing customers? No case.

Shonuff

Mr. Poopybutthole
I don't think you can sue, unless you area member of a protected group. But I don't know much about housing laws.

Disp_sl

shitlord
Yeah pretty sure there's nothing you can do. I lived in an apartment complex several years ago that had a move in special of 1 free month when I signed the 1 year lease agreement. I was there for 3 years, and would've been stupid if they had to give me a free month every year (though I would have loved it obviously) even though they had the deal going the whole time.

astos_sl

shitlord