Starting a Mortgage Company

anthonyquail_sl

shitlord
Longtime lurker here and at FOH. Been following Lyrical and Corndog's threads for probably 2 years now. I am starting my own mortgage brokering company in the next few months. Wanted to know if anyone has any experience with this and if you all have some useful tips or wish I knew then what I know now kind of stuff. Business will be in Clarksville, TN and my niche is Veterans Administration Loans. I am a combat veteran myself (actually in Afghanistan right now!) and I think I can serve the military community pretty well. What do you guys think?

Tmac

Adventurer
<Gold Donor>
You should check outHome | Automated Asset Verification. My company does a lot of their media.

They approve mortgages within 5 minutes by syncing to application accounts.

Durin the gov shutdown, it was one of the only ways to push loans through, due to its process.

Zombie Thorne_sl

shitlord
PM me any specific questions. My mom is an SVP of the mortgage side of a large regional bank in the area. Brokerage and bank lending are quite different but she has been in the business for 40 years and is pretty salty. I'll pass on what I can.

Unidin

Molten Core Raider
Focus on building relationships with realtors. The refi business is drying up with rates ticking up. People will still buy homes even with higher rates, but they won't refi. Reliable realtors that will give you consistent business is the key.

anthonyquail_sl

shitlord
Anyone have any suggestions on companies to use to pull borrowers credit, AUS services and LOS software? Still have not made up my mind on which to use for each of them.

Dyvim

Bronze Knight of the Realm
PM me any specific questions. My mom is an SVP of the mortgage side of a large regional bank in the area. Brokerage and bank lending are quite different but she has been in the business for 40 years and is pretty salty. I'll pass on what I can.
Your mom works at Thurgadin Bank? Thats awesome.

Asshat Brando