Tax Reform and You

Wingz

Being Poor Sucks.
After discussing the Tax plan in the Politics thread and reading the below post from @AladainAF

Politics Thread

It got me thinking.

My point of this thread is to sort of chart how we in our own lives are affected or will be affected as either employees, entrepreneurs, business owners etc by these tax cuts.

Don't have to go into financial details etc if you don't want too but I thought a discussion about how this affects you individually as we go through the next year or so would be ideal.

An example would be like: I'm a business owner and we hired an extra person. Or I work in a factory and we are expanding / building a new facility somewhere.
Even if it's like: Job market is improved, I did an interview and got a better job or man my refund is larger / smaller than I tought.

Obviously we can point to Comcast, etc offering bonuses and such too but we got a lot of various people here and it will be interesting to see what people post.

May as well start off with myself first. From this plan living in IL, taking the standard deduction, I will see a couple thousand more than I would before. That's how this will affect me.

Tax Calculator : Tax Plan Calculator by Maxim Lott

• 2Like
Reactions: 1 users

tyen

EQ in a browser wait time: ____
<Banned>
heard some blabbing about doubling child credits...goddamn son.

If you spend more then 1k a year on childcare you can claim +2 for each kid already.

Thats 4 i can claim per kid in total? Doubling the initial adding the childcare credit?

waaaaat?

Heylel

Trakanon Raider
Married, no kids. Probably a wash because blue state. Not super clear on what, if anything, it will do to RSUs. Likely it just kicks me into higher taxes because it gets treated like income for no damn reason.

yerm

Golden Baronet of the Realm