What would you like to see in a board game?

Genjiro

Ahn'Qiraj Raider
I've been developing my own legacy style fantasy board game for about 6 months now (mostly working out the main story and worldbuilding) and would be interested in feedback. What does the genre lack that you would like to see? Or even see more of something that is seldom found in most games?

I personally would like to see the world itself: its resources, factions, political alliances etc play more of a role in the game to feel more epic. Where players must fight for control of an area but then are rewarded with its resources for more gold, gems, minerals, ores etc to complement a crafting/building system. I also feel classes and gameplay in fantasy settings for the most part are stale and you might as well lump races in with that too. How many more elf, dwarf, goblin, orc, fighter, thief, mage etc can we see before we want to throw up? SO i would like to create some potentially interesting classes, maybe even borrowing from mmorpgs or pen and paper games for inspiration. The Vanguard blood mage for example would be a cool class to put in a board game.

Part of me would like to put a ccg aspect in as well, but Im not sure financially how viable it would be making the game. Its one of those things that has always seemed to flop from other designers but on its face but would be amazing if implemented well. Anyways, I would love to hear some ideas. Maybe use this thread as a brainstorming catch all if there are any other hobbyist/designers out there to bounce ideas off of each other.

• 1Like
  • 1Picard
Reactions: 1 users

Hateyou

Not Great, Not Terrible
<Bronze Donator>