Working for Amazon Web Services

Anyone with experience working for these folks? After working for Lockheed-we-couldn't-fail-harder-at-life-if-we-tried-Martin I'm extremely gun shy about working for another huge company but they've approached me and I'm inclined to go for it considering amazon aint goin anywhere any time soon.

But I want to know if its failsauce like most large companies. I guess I'm more curious about the degree of fail/specific type of fail.

Soygen

The Dirty Dozen For the Price of One
<Nazi Janitors>
I dunno. You might want to hold out until we know if this whole "Internet thing" is here to stay.

Falstaff

Ahn'Qiraj Raider
I have no idea but you should definitely hire me. I can get top secret clearance! And I have a Masters Degree and am not retarded!!!

I don't know. Their Boston office is a revolving door. They treat their Engineers much like they treat their Warehouse people... like shit.
This is kind of what I was wondering. I've heard from someone in their Seattle outfit that they'll work you to the bone too so its best to set boundaries early.

Thanks!

prescient

Silver Knight of the Realm
Amazon isn't known for having a good work life balance. If that's your thing Amazon isn't your company.

Obtenor_sl

shitlord
afaik life working for amazon is crappy, the company is cheap (that's why they can sell really cheap) so while salary you'll be good, forget about any quirks like free coffee or services.

Ortega

Vyemm Raider
afaik life working for amazon is crappy, the company is cheap (that's why they can sell really cheap) so while salary you'll be good, forget about any quirks like free coffee or services.
Buddy is a dev at Amazon. This is definitely true. His words "Amazon treats developers as a necessary evil." Basically he thinks if they could axe developers they would.

CnCGOD_sl

shitlord