1099 vs W2

Voyce

Shit Lord Supreme
<Donor>
I got offered the ability to take a W2 with bene's or go with a 1099 and get an extra 10k a year.

question is do I pay more taxes because the payroll, and self employment tax or whatever this bum shit is?

Then comes what I can deduct, the job is located in the most hustle and bustle part of Albany NY, Parking is bullshit, do things like parking cost factor into deductions?

Asshat Brando

Potato del Grande
<Banned>
I'd say you always choose a 1099 if possible. You can then file a schedule C and you don't have the limits for deductions for work place expenses like you do on the 2106 form you file if you are w-2'd.

opiate82

Bronze Squire
I'd say you always choose a 1099 if possible. You can then file a schedule C and you don't have the limits for deductions for work place expenses like you do on the 2106 form you file if you are w-2'd.
I am by no means an expert on this, but this advice is also what I have heard. Just keep in mind if you do take the 1099 that you won't have any with-holdings and will (most likely) owe taxes so keep some money set aside for that.

Zombie Thorne_sl

shitlord
I worked in HR/Employee Benefits for 10 years, and have owned a small business (restaurant) for the past 3 years. I am by no means an expert in this stuff, but do know some.

First off, you really should find a CPA to talk to about this. They will be able to tell you exactly which option will benefit you the most.

If you go the 1099 route you are basically being taxed as you are self employed. You will be able to use just anything related to work expenses as a deduction. You need to calculate exactly what you think you spend and see if you can come up with enough in deductions to offset the difference in pay. Determine what tax bracket you will be in and you can estimate your taxes fairly accurately.