A (Newbs) Guide to Home Recording

Flight

Molten Core Raider
I'm going to start off with a side note so folks don't have to read my drivel to get to this important fact : If you have a PC you can get into this now, for free, by downloadingReaper, checking out some Reaper tutorial vids on Youtube (there are lots of good ones) and start laying down drum, bass and instrument tracks down immediately from that package. There has never been a better time to get into this. What cost tens of thousands of $$$$ to do fifteen years ago is now available from free.

I started playing guitar in the '80s. For the last ten years or so I've had a strat, but never picked it up. Last time I did any recording it was in the stone age, before PCs, when it was all hardware and getting any kind of decent sound meant spending many thousands $$$. It suddenly occurred to me last week that I wanted to do some recording on my own.

I am as green to doing this as a new born babe. What I'm about to lay down is just what I've read the last couple of days. I have zero, zip, zilch, nil experience. I'm sure folks can offer better advice and correct me on things. But maybe I can pique your interest, let you know what's needed and lay down some of the options.

For me I just want to set a drum pattern down, play a little bass, rhythm and lead and put some dogged awful singing on top of it. For you it might be rapping or hip hop. It might be you fancy putting a pod cast together.

Now I found a few guides but I also found that the software (especially) and the hardware is evolving so quickly that most of them are out of date in one part or another.