Business School / MBA

Prime_sl

shitlord
Anyone here get an MBA from a top school (Harvard, MIT, Kellogg, etc)? I'm thinking about applying in Round 2 but not 100% sure yet.

A friend of a friend recommended that I get an admissions consultant (wasn't selling himself, just a consultant in general), but I'm pretty reluctant to drop a few thousand on something unless there are verifiable results. On the other hand, the total cost of an MBA + opportunity cost of not working is like 200k+, so what's 3k?

I'm currently an engineer and after 5 years at 2 different companies I would like a change and an MBA seems like the best. Ideally would like to get into management consulting.

Kedwyn

Silver Squire
If you already have a background and I assume experience, which matters most, then you don't need an degree from a top school IMO.

Prime_sl

shitlord
If I'm going to go back to school full time and get an MBA, I only want one from a top-10 place. Obviously you can still land great jobs with a lower ranked school (or without an MBA in general), but if I'm going to spend this much money and time, I want to go to the best possible school I can get into.

Palum

what Suineg set it to
You're an engineer only, no management experience? You think getting an MBA will qualify you or get you the skills to be a management consultant or what exactly is your perceived gain? Do you have a job lined up or anything?

I think the people willing to exclude non ivy league MBAs from their candidate pool are going to just as quickly exclude people with no experience. Engineering is great but managing people within processes is the important part in BPI and that is completely experienced based.

Shonuff

Mr. Poopybutthole
Anyone here get an MBA from a top school (Harvard, MIT, Kellogg, etc)? I'm thinking about applying in Round 2 but not 100% sure yet.