Coding for 8th Graders

fat12_sl

shitlord
Hey guys,

I am in my second year of teaching as an 8th grade technology teacher. I majored in film, so, a lot of what I tried to incorporate into my lesson planning last year leaned heavily towards that: video editing with their Ipads, making podcast with garageband, and using Photoshop.

There is this national initiative called Hour of Coding that we did last year where I just had the students go to a webpage that Khan Academy put up. They got to do some simple java type stuff, and a lot of them enjoyed it, even the prissy girls. At the end of the year, they expressed in their evaluations that they wish we could've spent more time doing it.

I, personally, don't know a thing about coding, but I'd like to try and create a 3-4 week unit this year where I can give them the opportunity to go a little deeper with it. Do you guys have any recommendations as to what type of coding or software I might be able to introduce my students to at a very basic level?

Danka!

chaos

Buzzfeed Editor
Scratch may be a little young for 8th graders, but it is awesome. I'm itching to get my 6 year old into it.Scratch - Imagine, Program, Share

No Starch Press has a whole line of books aimed at kids for Javascript, Python, Scratch, and Java as well I think. That could be a good starting point.No Starch Press

There are innumerable apps for this. Kodable looks good,Kodable Pro App Review

Codeacademy is good for a very basic intro, it helped me get into Ruby a bit.Learn to code | Codecademy

Google looks like they have a program that is basically what you are looking forAbout CS First | Google CS First

BrutulTM

Good, bad, I'm the guy with the gun.
<Silver Donator>