Commercial Real Estate

Picasso3

Silver Baronet of the Realm
Theres a 30,000 square ft warehouse for sale around here that i really want to buy. It would cost about $1/sq ft/yr to occupy at its current utility rate. I know a few connections to maybe store documents etc with local businesses. Would I be too crazy to assume i can walk around and find someone lease storage space to? The top 2 floors are original brick, steel frame, wood joists, and hardwoods (built in 1920s).. so i can see myself eventually taking the top floor, living there and playing golf inside.

I'm an engineer so i don't know shit about business but $1/sq ft a year... i'm just thinking why the hell not. It is sprinkled, and heated, roof looks ok. If anyone has any exp for that, or the conversion to commercial zoned warehouse spaces to lofts feel free to spill your guts.

Picasso3

It is cheaper here ofc but the lowest published lease rate I've seen that would be comparable is 3.80.

Tortfeasor

Molten Core Raider
Where is it? I am a Texas attorney but I have dabbled with this sort of thing in a couple of other places (Kentucky, Ohio). I would imagine getting the zoning on a big warehouse lot would not be easy, but it can be done. Usually you have to file a petition with the city council or county commissioners but sometimes the local government will have a some sort of comprehensive 'Land Use Plan' that you have to go by and it can be a bitch to try to get a variance (exception) deviating from the plan. As far as helping you figure out how to go about doing it, you need to provide more information. Specifically, it would be good to know what state, county, and municipality in which the property is located as well what it is currently zoned as.

Picasso3