Estate Planning

Blazin

Creative Title
<Nazi Janitors>
With a lawyer. Only other option if your situation is very straightforward is legal zoom. Financial advice here is hard enough with so many variables, estate planning is a whole other ball of wax . Again depending on how complex you can spend $1000 on a lawyer and put together a decent plan. If you need trusts to be formed may pay more. Read dummy books just to familiarize yourself before calling people.

Vaclav

Bronze Baronet of the Realm
Well even before talking to anyone, is figure out how big you're planning your family to be - who will be involved in getting benefit from your estate and the minimum duration that you want the estate to run.

There's a world of difference between setting up a trust to last generations for a huge family and setting one up for two kids and that's it for example. (i.e. in my case - only taking care of my niece and nephew, rest will go to charity)

Tortfeasor

Molten Core Raider
I'm a lawyer and I do estate planning. What exactly are trying to achieve with regard to your stuff for when you die? Do you have more than $5 million in net worth and are thus contemplating federal estate tax? You'll have to be more specific if you want useful internet advice, but the best thing I can recommend to everyone is to learn exactly what happens during the probate process in your state. Most estate planning is geared toward contingencies occuring within that process or taking measures to bypass that process entirely.

Izo

Tranny Chaser
I just want to know how to ensure that my PC hard drive is erased upon my death.
bracelet.png

Gadrel_sl

shitlord
If your estate is below the threshold for the federal estate tax then there's nothing to plan, really. Have a will made if you want specific things to happen or your property to devolve in a manner different from your state's default rule.

Tortfeasor

Molten Core Raider