Learning Programming on Your Own

projoking

Molten Core Raider
Tuco had mentioned in another thread that the OP should start a thread devoted to learning programming on your own. I am just going to go ahead and make one because I am in a similar boat. I plan on learning programming with the end goal of doing a start-up indie game company. If things go well I would eventually want to code our own website etc... so I would need to learn HTML5?

I plan on starting with C++ for no other reason then that is what my brother is learning and we are going to be the programmers in the company. I figured it would be helpful to be on the same page as far as languages go. That being said, I am still very new to coding and any tips or recommendations would be appreciated.

I don't want this thread to be about just me though. Anyone who is learning code on their own feel free to post questions and comments here. All the best to you venture programmers out there.

xrg

Golden Squire
To make your own website you need to learn HTML and CSS at a minimum (being relatively familiar with an image editor would be useful as well). Anything beyond a static webpage, it's also good to know Javascript and at least one server-side language (I believe php is still the most popular).

HTML and CSS you can probably learn in a single weekend, they're really simple. Javascript and PHP are a bit more involved to learn. I'd watch videos atCSS-Tricks, and maybe run through the web dev stuff onCodecademy.

Pontius_sl

shitlord
im doing a bachelor in IT, try this out for giggles. It's pretty good for a newbiehttp://www.codecademy.com

and yeah, html and css is a must, if you want functionality beyond just a website, you'll need to read up on databases,php, mysql etc.

McCheese

SW: Sean, CW: Crone, GW: Wizardhawk