Machine Learning & Analytics - More Than I Can Chew?

Deruvian

Lord Nagafen Raider
I often come to FoH/RR when making big decisions to get a reality check. I find myself once again in need of advice and was hoping to lean on the collective wisdom of you all.

I'm a first year MBA student. I've worked for a bunch of years in finance, can code somewhat well and know SQL back and forth. I've really enjoyed working with data in my past life and want to transition into a role where I manage data scientists or something similar. There seems to be a ton of demand for managers with hard data skills, so I have a leg up on nearly all of my classmates in this respect. In respect to ML, I have had classes covering the basics, but they are all superficial MBA courses. What I am thinking of pursuing, and why I am writing this, is a path that will get my hands dirty.

I want to understand, at least partially, the math that drives these ML algorithms. I don't want to be the person managing others who has no idea how to do their job. I do not have a background in linear algebra and I haven't seen calculus in ten years. I can cross enroll during my MBA and fill these holes from the university's math department, but I don't have any conception of how far down the rabbit hole I will need to go, or even if this is a feasible/useful idea. This stuff is all really fascinating to me and I think that will help me grind through a lot of it, but I am at a point now where I am about to enroll for Linear Algebra next semester and wanted to step back and examine.

Am I setting myself up for failure here? Are there other things I should be considering? Classes I should be considering? I'm also self learning Python, but that isn't something that requires the investment or brainpower that the above does. Any related comments, suggestions, anything would be much appreciated.

iannis

Musty Nester