Pension Lump Sum?

Noodleface

A Mod Real Quick
So.. before I was a cool engineer, I worked at a grocery store part-time for around 13 years. Somewhere during my stay, I got enrolled in a pension. Upon leaving, they gave me the info that I'd be receiving $250/month upon retirement. It's shit money, but it's "free" so it was whatever.

I just got a letter in the mail that the company is offering me a lump sum package rather than taking the monthly income at retirement. They say they'll send the offer at a later date. Before I even see that, is this normal procedure? I'm only 30, so the thought of me receiving a payout on my pension is tough to grasp. I know they offer payouts when people legitimately retire, but I haven't heard of people like me being offered it.

Is there some sort of general rule of thumb on what percentage they'll offer me? I'm not sure what to expect.

What would you bros do? It's such a low amount of money I'm tempted to take it, but on the other hand it could be worth quite a bit more when I retire and actually need money.

Gadrel_sl

shitlord
Depends on whether it's a defined contribution or defined benefit plan. If it's the latter, I might personally consider staying vested.

That said, private pensions are pretty much doomed to fail. If you have to wait until you're 55 to collect you may never see that money again.

BrutulTM

Good, bad, I'm the guy with the gun.
<Silver Donator>
Obviously the people wanting to buy your pension think it's going to be worth more than they are going to pay for it. On the other hand, 30 years from now $250 a month isn't even going to pay your cable bill (assuming that cable still exists by then which it probably won't).

Abefroman

Naxxramas 1.0 Raider
Find out what Union you were in and request the pension funding statments that they give out. You honestly should have continued to get these unless you never notified them of a change of address.

OneofOne

Silver Baronet of the Realm