Roguelikes and Roguelike-likes

Ive been blowing money on steam games alot to pass the time until starbound is released, and i stumbled upon the game dungeons of dredmor here on the forums and decided to try it.
Had quite a bit of fun, and one thing led to the next, i bought sword of the stars: The pit and stumbled on my favorite of em all, which is FREE:http://te4.org/Tales of Maj"eyal. First game ever of this genre for me was faster than light, which people say is not really a roguelike, i cant say im really new to the genre.

Are there other gems like TOME around? I heard dwarf fortress is good, its on my to-check list

Havent had this much fun with games for a long time, doesnt feel like work, like linear'ing it up trying to finish mass effect for 15mins before closing the game down.

Goldenmean_sl

shitlord
I only just saw this one today, haven't got it yet but looks like it could be interesting fun

http://www.roguelegacy.com/
Grabbed it on Steam today and have been playing quite a bit. I'll second Derpa's recommendation

It's a metroidvania perspective roguelike with more progression than your average roguelike. Every death you start a new character as a descendant of your previous character, can spend any money you earned on expanding your manor, which works like an account wide talent tree, where you can unlock new classes, boost stats, etc and then run off back into the dungeon.

Because of the manor system, unlike many roguelikes, you're not constantly starting from scratch when you die, so early on you're pretty much just trying to survive until you get enough money to upgrade some part of your manor. I'm not certain how long it is, and the downside to progression is that you'll eventually trivialize areas, but I'd say you'll definitely get your 15$ worth out of it. I haven't even unlocked all of the manor yet, and some of the repeatable upgrades go up to level 75, with the prices for everything steadily increasing.

Goldenmean_sl

shitlord