The Hobbyist Game Creator Thread

Daelos

Guarding the guardians
(I looked around for a thread like this but couldn't find one - if there is another one, please merge!)

I've been programming since I was six years old (= copying from the yellow pages in BYTE magazine into the state-of-the-art BBC Microcomputer we had in the 80's), and kept doing it semi-regularly as I was growing up. Got my degree in CompSci, and suddenly my career pivoted into infosec/netsec and the coding was all but forgotten.

As the kids got past the nappy-stage, career was safely established and I got some more spare time I fell back in love with programming. After a couple of smaller almost-projects, I found Unity3D a few years ago. Which was perfect for me: I'm not a good coder. I use shortcuts, I make all my variables public 'cause I'm lazy that way, and I only use about 50% of the tools available in C#. If I remember to create and use interfaces and to inherit a few classes, I'm happy and when I learned about how to build a proper event system with statics and delegates I felt like a genius.
Nor am I a good artist, or musician, or... anything really. But with Unity, it was suddenly possible to get a few neat assets from the store, copy from others mistakes, and get through by watching YouTube-tutorials. Suddenly I could make what almost looks like games.

I'm not doing this to build the next MineCraft, but because it's a perfect way to channel the creative drive that some times need a place to go. Diving into making a procedural voxel world and coming out at the other end with something that actually works is immensely satisfying. The past 6 months in particular, I've spent quite a lot of time by my PC (and the girlfriend is finding out that having a partner who plays video games is nowhere as irritating as one who tries to make them), building up a skillset that makes even more fun stuff possible.