The Sandman

Mudcrush Durtfeet

Hungry Ogre
They actually did not do that scene justice. In the graphic novel you see the mother look at the baby and then collapse to the floor after exclaiming " No"...

I guess they did not want the scene to be to strong.
There's a lot of softening harsh scenes from the comic in this series.

The cat episode in the show is missing the key line 'it will never happen' after the comment about trying to get a 1000 cats to do anything at the same time. It seems in the comic that the old cat does not have much hope at this point, which tone is not in the show.

Slaanesh69

Millie's Staff Member
I have zero knowledge of the source material aside from what I read in this thread, and I found myself yelling at the TV:

"Why does the son have to be gay, Netflix? Why?"
"Why are the majority of the characters black? Why are all the good characters black?"
"Oh of course Constantine is gender swapped and is gay/bi. Why is it shoved into our face so obviously though!?"

Aside from the obvious, the mood and lore of the show is pretty cool and I have enjoyed it a lot so far.

moonarchia

The Scientific Shitlord
I have zero knowledge of the source material aside from what I read in this thread, and I found myself yelling at the TV:

"Why does the son have to be gay, Netflix? Why?"
"Why are the majority of the characters black? Why are all the good characters black?"
"Oh of course Constantine is gender swapped and is gay/bi. Why is it shoved into our face so obviously though!?"

Aside from the obvious, the mood and lore of the show is pretty cool and I have enjoyed it a lot so far.
The son was gay in the comics.
The majority of the good characters were race and/or gender swapped because reasons.
The Constantine stuff was almost exactly as it was in the comics except they weren't allowed to use John Constantine due to the JJ Abrams project at the time so they just gender swapped him.