Everything Options

• Guest, it's time once again for the hotly contested and exciting FoH Asshat Tournament!

Go here and fill out your bracket!
    Who's been the biggest Asshat in the last year? Once again, only you can decide!

Blazin

Creative Title
<Nazi Janitors>
Options can be a powerful tool to add to your investing/trading toolkit. They can dramatically increase your risk or they can mitigate it and everything in between. This thread is for discussing options plays, options education and questions.

I have been trading options for about 20 yrs now, though I began doing so more in earnest about 5 yrs ago. There is a lot of lingo and terminology around options that can be daunting for traders new to them. Some basics definitions, I'm purposely leaving out nuance to avoid confusion and try to give definitions that are most practical rather than all inclusive of every situation:

A Call Option - this is a contract to buy 100 shares of an underlying instrument (could be a stock or an ETF) at a fixed price (Strike) with a set expiration date.

A Put Option - this is a contract to sell 100 shares of an underlying instrument (could be a stock or an ETF) at a fixed price (Strike) with a set expiration date.

OOM/ITM/ATM - Out of the Money and In the money. For a call option it is OOM when trading below the strike price and ITM when trading above the strike, and thusly reverse for the Put option it is OOM when trading above up the Strike and ITM when trading below the strike. At the money is when t he stock is trading at the strike.

Premium - this is the price paid for the option it is made up of the intrinsic value and extrinsic value (this term is not used particularly often).