Getting started in computer programming

Flipmode

EQOA Refugee
I currently work in healthcare, but have a strong desire to get out of the field. I think I'd be interested in programming and networking and wondered what's the best degree to get that will make you as flexible as possible?

I see many colleges that are technical in nature (Devry, ITT Tech etc) that charge a fortune but say their curriculum is more in line with employer needs than traditional universities. Any truth to that? Any insight from people in the field would be helpful. Thanks!

stupidmonkey

Not Smrt
<Gold Donor>
Age? Education? Any prior computer/programming knowledge? If so, how much i.e. You can plug a computer in, you can build one, etc?

For universities you are looking at computer engineering, computer sciences, etc for programming and computer design. If you want more of a technical aspect then ITT etc would handle that but it might not be worth the money.

If you've never done anything in either field I would recommend going online to udacity.com or any other free online school to see what programming and IT is really all about.

Without any actual experience or degree the best you are looking at is tier 1 helpdesk support @ $10-12 in Phoenix. I'm in Mesa and Snotsdale, so if you want more info PM.

Flipmode

EQOA Refugee
I'm 37. I have a bachelors degree in molecular and cellular biology from the university of Arizona. I also have an associates degree in respiratory therapy. That is my current occupation. I have no prior programming knowledge but I can build computers and have become good at troubleshooting routers and networks. I'd most likely be more interested in computer science for programming.

As for pay, I'd opt for the degree first so it's at least a lateral move. I work in Scottsdale lol! I make about $28 and hour at my current job. Just burnt out and need a change.

Tenks

Bronze Knight of the Realm