Healthcare / science careers

• Guest, it's time once again for the hotly contested and exciting FoH Asshat Tournament!

Go here and fill out your bracket!
    Who's been the biggest Asshat in the last year? Once again, only you can decide!

Pescador

Trakanon Raider
Seems like a decent amount of people here are in the sciences. Even though I'm not even close to IT / software, I have enjoyed reading through that thread, so I figured it might be interesting to get a similar discussion for other fields. I grouped healthcare and science together since there is some overlap and there might not be enough people for separate threads.

Kuriin

Just a Nurse
I believe Izo is HBS, I'm a nurse, Vanderhoof is a psychiatric NP, and I'm sure there are a few others here in the medical field.

Pescador

Trakanon Raider
How do healthcare workers generally feel about pharma companies? I work at a midsize pharma company so I'm not part of "big pharma", but I feel like the pharmaceuticals industry in general gets a bad rap.

ZyyzYzzy

RIP USA
<Banned>
I do chem/bio defense and did a decent amount of work with diagnostics/detection and medical countermeasures . Such useless work.

Tim

Molten Core Raider
I started working in healthcare as an EMT-B, over time got my EMT-P then bridged that degree to RN and just finished BSN. I did the typical route of someone who was a major fuckup in life until his late 20's and always heard from everyone that healthcare was the place to be. Dual licencing opens up some fun opportunities. I will probably try to get my MPH in the future.

If anyone has an interest in working in the field and doesn't mind starting out with grunt work, EMT is pretty fun and something you can get in on pretty easily as just a part time pursuit.

Pescador

Trakanon Raider
A couple of my physician friend started as EMTs and they seem super passionate about medicine. It's a good way to get your foot in the door for future with as a doctor, fireman, etc.

Any researchers here?