Jamaica

Kedwyn

Silver Squire
Its a good way to keep the guest list down without drama and can keep costs down as well. Weddings are about whatever the bride and groom want, its their day. If Aunt Ruth wants to be part of the equation she can make an effort.

I also agree Jamaica is a total shit hole. There are far better places just about anywhere else in the world for all inclusive.

Frenzied Wombat

Potato del Grande
But what about close family that are basically required to attend? I find it a dick move. Some people don't have the means to go on a great vacation but really would like to attend the wedding. Destination weddings are a giant middle finger to those people. Back in college my cousin got married destination style and I was a strained college student. Now I had to come up with the cash to get to her wedding to go to a place I didn't even feel like vacationing in. I find it completely uncool.
If someone has a destination wedding I don't think they seriously expect those that can't afford it to make the trip. If I had a destination wedding, I know my brother would not be able to afford the flight, so I will either pay for it or accept the fact that he can't make it. I know that *if* I ever get married (and that's a big unlikely if at this point) it will be a destination wedding, and if anything it will allow me to send out invites to all those people I don't give a shit about (but I'm obliged to invite) and allow them to bow out gracefully due to time/cost. In the end I'll have a) met my obligation to invite my 2rd cousins, great aunt etc knowing full well they won't come b) effectively reduced headcount to only those I really want there and/or those that felt it was worth their time/money to come and c) achieved my wedding venue of choice.