Possible Move to Colorado

Noble Savage

Kang of Kangz
<Bronze Donator>
Hoping my rerolled brethren might be able to provide some guidance here. I currently live in Cincinnati and have for the last 20 years. Pretty much hate it here and have been ready for a change of scenery for the last few years. A comfortable job and a home mortgage that was underwater prevented me from seriously looking at a relocation. However things are changing and it looks like there might be an opportunity to leave here if I wish. I recently went on a road trip to Colorado and spent a week in Colorado Springs. Needless to say I loved it out there, I saw it as a place that I could really see myself living. Does anyone have any advice as to places to avoid moving or places they would highly recommend? Colorado Springs was very laid back but Denver looked awesome as we drove through it, seemed to be a lot happening there. I work in IT so being able to get a job fairly easily is a must. Not knowing anything about the job markets, cost of living, attitude of the locals of the different cities I am looking for some advice.

Alex

Still a Music Elitist
For IT jobs, Denver and Boulder are probably your best bet. There are a ton of startup-ish companies in Boulder and the ones growing in size all need that support. I've spent a lot of time in Denver, Boulder, and Ft. Collins. Of those places, Ft. Collins is my favorite. It's a college town, but it's big enough to not make that the focus. It's also only an hour away from Denver so trips to the city aren't all that inconvenient. I have no idea what the IT job feasibility is there though.