Archery - As a Hobby

TJT

Mr. Poopybutthole
<Gold Donor>
So for whatever reason an Archery range opened up on my street. I am going to be joining up with their annual membership with 1 free session a week. Since it is only $50 a year I figured it could be fun for Sat/Sun morning.

Do any of you shoot bows and shit? I've never done it before but will be starting!

• 2Like
Reactions: 1 users

Borzak

Bronze Baron of the Realm
I shot bows a lot until just recently and don't have the strength in left arm anymore. It can get pretty addictive in a hurry. Soon you will own a couple of bows, a bow press, an arrow saw, a fletching jig. Just kidding.

I enjoyed it. Lot of fun. If you hang around ranges or bow shops for a while you will notice something quickly. The muscles used to pull a heavy draw bow back aren't really muscles a lot of people use a lot. I've seen some pretty musclar guys pick up a bow and get shamed in a hurry. Took me time to build it up gradually. I've been shooting them since about age 12, so 36 years.

So curious what bow do you own now? The newer (ok been around for 10+ years now) parellel limb designs are much more stable and comfortable to shoot.

At one point I've owned at one time or another a good portion of the brands. A lot of them are now gone bye bye. Jennings (the actual company is gone, now just a brand), Hoyt, Mathews, Bowtech, Martin (now gone thru major reorginization and mostly gone as an archery company). Yes my first bow had actual cables (not dacron) and a whopping 30% let off which was considered borderline "unfair" at the time. Things change rapidly.

It's a lot of fun to shoot with some friends, at least it was to me. If you really get into it you'll want to fletch your own arrows and cut them, save a ton of money.