Censorship and Art

• Guest, it's time once again for the hotly contested and exciting FoH Asshat Tournament!

Go here and fill out your bracket!
    Who's been the biggest Asshat in the last year? Once again, only you can decide!

The Edge

Lord Nagafen Raider
Why do we censor? Is a child that is protected from "R-rated" material better off than one that was exposed to violence/nudity/profanity? Are there actual studies showing evidence that teaching children that the world is all sunshine and rainbows is somehow beneficial?

As a former teacher, I'm genuinely curious. Too often you hear about culture shock, and the "real world" that students experience once they get away from from their parents. A high percentage of students drop out after their first semester of college because of the dramatic switch. Are people that grow up in unfiltered home environments better adjusted to the world around them?

Is censorship just a conservative creation to hold people back or is there real evidence that "protecting" people by filtering information they receive beneficial?

Titan_Atlas

Deus Vult
<Banned>
Protecting from adversity, or hover parenting is bad. Protecting from content, is good. So take the typical Liberal belief system, turn it on its head and you have your answer.

sadris

Karen
<Donor>
Hearing information that contradicts with your preconceived notions reduces the creation of dopamine. Censoring said information maximizes dopamine production. So censorship is just a real world manifestation of a biological desire.

People don't like to hear that their child died. They don't like to hear that they got fired. They don't like to hear that they were wrong.

Titan_Atlas

Deus Vult
<Banned>
To add when I say protecting from content, I mean we can reasonably determine what content can be intellectually digested at different maturity levels. I don't mean blind religious Conservative censorship.

• 2Like
Reactions: 1 users

The Edge

Lord Nagafen Raider