Dungeons & Dragons - New & Old

Grimsark

I just received my Boxed Set, 5e Starter Set, the other day... I have not done more than open it and make sure everything is inside. I did 4 rounds of beta testing way back and figure I know enough about the gist that I am definitely going to play it. Though my circumstances have changed and it looks like if I do, it will be through something like Roll20.

I started playing back when I was 11. 2e had just hit the shelves and I had just spent all my last month of paper route money on the first four basic D&D Boxed sets (Red, Blue, Green, Black) and I actually still have them! Including the Immortals set that I picked up on Ebay over a decade ago.

So my point is that I have been into D&D (RPG's) for some time. Yeah, I know that D&D isn't perfect, but like most first loves, there is just something that keeps one coming back.

Anyone have any impressions of 5e? The boxed set in general? Plans to play on Roll20?

Kuriin

Just a Nurse
We have 2 or 3 campaigns that I'm GMing on Pathfinder. HOWEVER, I did watch JP (itmeJP on twitch) play the starter set on 5e and they completely got raped on the final encounter. I'm not sure I like 5e though.

Arbitrary

Tranny Chaser
The release schedule bothers me. The PHB has an MSRP of 50 fucking dollars and all the core books have a staggered release. With 4th I just bought a boxed set of the three core rulebooks day one and was good to go. Having no Monster Manual basically forces the DM to buy the first module or there won't be anything to actually play.

Nehrak_sl

shitlord
I haven't followed 5e at all, so I'm here wondering exactly how much it differs (or resembles) 3.x and/or 4.x. In other words, is there a Cliff's Notes link describing 5e? I don't really want to spend hours trying to dig through wizards.com for an article that MIGHT be what I want.

lindz

#DDs
It doesn't resemble 4e in the least. It is a lot more similar to 3e but they have tried to streamline it.

Grimsark